Celebrating Success

We are promoting Porirua, the young talent within the city, and helping to foster a sense of community pride.

Kia eke panuku


These awards celebrate Porirua students who are excelling in one of the following categories: academic, environment and community, art and culture, and sports. The annual event is always well attended and includes presentations from the Mayor to recognise some of the most promising shining lights in Porirua.

Different from most awards, the Porirua Youth Awards recognises rangatahi in two age categories – junior (11-15 year-olds) and senior (16-19 year-olds). The Porirua Youth Awards helps Porirua City acknowledge our rangatahi who are leading the way.


Grant applications open         22 July 2019
Grant applications close         30 August 2019
Winners announced                  27 September 2019
Awards function                         24 October 2019

Go to the Youth Awards website for full details and an application form.


He whakamihi, congratulations to our 2018 Porirua Youth Awards recipients!

They are; Charlie Hickey, 13, Discovery School, Sport. Agnes Valasi, 15, Bishop Viard College, Education. Jillian Tupuse, 13, Corinna School, Art and Culture. Seamus Curtain, 18, Aotea College, Sport. Brooklyn-Kasey Joseph, 17, Aotea College, Environment and Community. Hung Tien Ly, 17, Mana College, Education. Ezekiel Fiso, 18, Scots College, Education. Isla Day, 17, Kapiti College, Education. Tiuana-Marie Aiono, 17, Queen Margaret College, Education. Ngatuere Matakātea, 17, Te Kura Maori o Porirua, Art and Culture. Murray Faivalu, 18, Porirua College, Environment and Community.


Each year Partners Porirua coordinates these awards as a way of celebrating many of the outstanding rangatahi employed in Porirua. Dale Carnegie also sponsors the Young Leader of the Year who receives a scholarship to attend this world-famous programme. 

The Young Employee Awards evening was recently held in conjunction with the Porirua Chamber of Commerce at a new venue, The Settlement in Porirua, a great place to celebrate our youth.  Nominees included young employees from across many different sectors such as hospitality, sales and service, construction and recreation. This year we had a record 22 nominations, all a very high calibre. The feedback from employers and attendees at the function has been very positive.

Winner of the 2018 Young Employee Award – Rafaela Madlung from OPSM
Dale Carnegie Leadership Award – Gabbi Vella from McDonalds, Porirua
Rising Star Award – Eimeo Kirk from Downer Construction/Transport Services
Contribution to Business Award – Jared Pu’a from Warehouse Stationery
Contribution to Business Award – Matt McLaughlin from Montage Interior


Partners Porirua is well recognised for its community contributions and sound business practice. In 2013 and 2016 the organisation was named the winner of the Outstanding Contribution to the Community award at the Westpac Porirua Business Awards.  Tau kē!

Partners Porirua was also recognised for the valuable contribution of volunteers in being named the 2014 Porirua region Supreme Winner in the Wellington Airport Regional Community Awards.

A key success factor for Partners Porirua has been its ability to bring together businesses and community to work alongside educators to encourage rangatahi to be innovative, enterprising and entrepreneurial. These are the qualities required for the workforce of the future and the key to developing youth for te ao mahi, the working world, .

“We are promoting Porirua, the young talent within the city, and helping to foster a sense of community pride.”

Michelle Robinson
Executive Director
Partners Porirua

“The Dale Carnegie Leadership award made all the hard work worth it. The confidence this gave me, and the scholarship I received, enabled me to accomplish things beyond what I would have thought was possible.”

Jessica Pritchard
Young Leader of the Year scholarship recipient 2017

“The Young Leader of the Year scholarship provides outstanding young employees in Porirua with the opportunity to shine and develop into outstanding leaders of the future. We’re proud to sponsor this initiative.”

Peter Couchman
Managing Director
Dale Carnegie Wellington

Find Us At

L05 Lydney Place South, Porirua
PO Box 50462, Porirua 5240

Our Supporters