porirua youth awards 2021


Twelve of our rangatahi were celebrated for their outstanding accomplishments at this year’s twelfth annual Porirua Youth Awards.

Porirua Mayor Anita Baker congratulated each of them for their hard work and achievements at the awards ceremony at Pataka last Wednesday.  Recipients received up to $1500 to put towards further study or other goals.

Rangatahi participating and leading the way in education, culture and arts, environment and community work and sports feature in the awards each year.

A special thanks goes out to our Emcee’s Murray Faivalu, Allyson Tone and Tahlia Steedman who did an amazing  job.



He whakamihi, congratulations to our 2021 Porirua Youth Award Recipients!

Recipient Age School Award Award Category
Bailey Symons 15 Whitby Collegiate Commended Sport
Kaela Stodart 15 Aotea College Commended Community/Environment
Failelei-Fay Nafatali 17 Bishop Viard College Commended Education
Hannah Mercer 17 Aotea College Excellence Education
Suné Weyers 18 Kapiti College Commended Education
Grace Muldrock 17 Aotea College Commended Art/Culture
Brian Fiedalan 17 Mana College Commended Art/Culture
Jemma Brisk 18 Aotea College Commended Community/Environment
Jennifer Coulston 17 Aotea College Commended Community/Environment
Sarah Habib 17 Tawa College Commended Community/Environment
Abby Draper 17 Wellington Girls College Commended Sport
Emelita Fa’asalele-Leota 17 Bishop Viard College Excellence Sport

Back: Jemma Brisk, Jennifer Coulston, Hannah Mercer, Mayor Anita Baker, Brian Fiedalan, Abby Draper, Kaela Stodard, Suné Weyers
Front:  Failelei-Fay Nafatali, Emelita Faasalele-Leota, Grace Muldrock, Sarah Habib